Jump to content
Almost everything directly from stock. Online shop and direct sale in store.
We have big stock. Online shop and direct sale in the store in Zurich!

Magical arts in Linz and around the world

Original price SFr. 38.50 - Original price SFr. 38.50
Original price
SFr. 38.50
SFr. 38.50 - SFr. 38.50
Current price SFr. 38.50
incl. VAT., without shipping

Only a few today still know something about the illusionists, cardsharps, tamers, faith healers, occultists, escape artists and quick-change artists, ventriloquists and voice imitators, hypnotists or manipulators. Since the 18th century, these have appeared regularly in Linz and Upper Austria in the amusement theatres, on squares and streets, in half-worlds and back rooms, at the markets in spring and late summer.

In 1908 the Kolosseum entertainment theater on Linz's Hessenplatz started its variety show, and in the same year a Chinese group of artists showed their skills there. One of the most impressive figures was the Chinese magician and acrobat Long Tack Sam, born in Shangdung province in 1885, who then married in Vienna and settled in Linz. Artists such as Horace Goldin, Buffalo Bill and Fakir Rayo from Bad Hall, as well as Caroline Bernhardt and Jacob Weiss made stops in Linz.

Numerous announcements and programmes, which have survived in rare completeness, document the history of Linz entertainment in the early 19th century.

The publication reads like a richly illustrated album of the curiosities and magic arts of the time. You can't believe it without seeing it!, as the two mind-reading miracle girls who performed in Linz in 1826 already knew.

Book German, bound, 285 pages.

SKU 60122

Zauberkünste in Linz und der Welt — Deinparadies.ch Zu Inhalt springen
Täglicher Versand ab Schweizer Lager! Portofrei ab Fr. 100.–
Täglicher Versand ab Schweizer Lager! Portofrei ab Fr. 100.–

Zauberkünste in Linz und der Welt

von Various
Originalpreis SFr. 38.50 - Originalpreis SFr. 38.50
Originalpreis
SFr. 38.50
SFr. 38.50 - SFr. 38.50
Reduzierter Preis SFr. 38.50
inkl. Mehrwertsteuer., ohne Versand

Nur wenige wissen heute noch etwas über die Illusionisten, Falschspieler, Dompteure, Wunderheiler, Okkultisten, Entfesselungs- und Verwandlungskünstler, Bauchredner und Stimmenimitatoren, Hypnotiseure oder Manipulatoren. Diese sind in Linz und Oberösterreich seit dem 18. Jahrhundert regelmässig in den Unterhaltungstheatern, auf Plätzen und Strassen, in den Halbwelten und Hinterzimmern, auf den Märkten im Frühling und im Spätsommer aufgetreten.

1908 startete das Unterhaltungstheater Kolosseum am Linzer Hessenplatz sein Variétéprogramm, und noch im selben Jahr zeigte dort eine chinesische Artistengruppe ihre Künste. Einer der eindrucksvollsten Figuren war der chinesische Zauberkünstler und Akrobat Long Tack Sam, 1885 in der Provinz Shangdung geboren, der dann in Wien heiratete und sich in Linz niederliess. Künstler wie Horace Goldin, Buffalo Bill oder der Bad Haller Fakir Rayo sowie Caroline Bernhardt oder Jacob Weiss machten Station in Linz.

Zahlreiche Ankündigungszettel und Programmhefte, die in seltener Vollständigkeit erhalten sind, dokumentieren die Geschichte der Linzer Unterhaltung im frühen 19. Jahrhundert.

Die Publikation liest sich wie ein reich illustriertes Album der Kuriositäten und Zauberkünste dieser Zeit. Es ist nicht zu glauben, ohne zu sehen!, wussten schon die zwei Gedanken lesenden Wundermädchen, die 1826 in Linz aufgetreten sind.

Buch deutsch, gebunden, 285 Seiten.